Post Format

Automator Workflow for MultiMarkDown image links

Leave a Reply

I am currently writing most of my stuff in MultiMarkDown. And since I prefer images over text, I have to integrate a whole bunch of images in my MultiMarkDown texts. And that is just cumbersome. The minimal image link is

   ![caption](img/neo4j-cypher-graph-naive.png)

but if you want to be able to reference the images (and add some HTMLL alt-text) it has to become

   ...
   ![caption][neo4j-cypher-graph-naive]
   ...

   [neo4j-cypher-graph-naive]: img/neo4j-cypher-graph-naive.png "caption"

and with a link to that image that works well enough in HTML and LaTeX/PDF you have to add:

   (s. [caption](#neo4j-cypher-graph-naive))

That’s quite some typing. So in the spirit of Brett Terpstras Markdown Service Tools, I created my own (very first service) that allows me to

  1. select a file in the (Path) Finder
    select the service
  2. enter the caption
    enter the caption
  3. and have everything put into the Clipboard, so that
  4. I can paste it into my editor of choice

I have uploaded the Automator Workflow at

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/2969865/md-image-link.workflow.zip

I will ask Brett to include it in his collection

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

